mr. miserable.

June 21, 2010

Over the last few weeks I had been trying here and there to hang out with a friend of a friend that I found slightly attractive.  Finally, on Saturday night I got a text: “Hey are you still at the bar?” and before I know it, there’s a tap on my back and there he is on the barstool next to me.

I asked him how his job was. “It’s work,” he said.  I asked him if he has seen our mutual friends recently. “Nope.” (followed by a sigh) I asked if he’s been watching much of the World Cup.  “Soccer is lame.”  I bopped my head a bit to the music the DJ was playing.  “This song is awful.”

(At this point, my roommate had wandered off, unable to watch this train wreck unfolding in front of her and ignoring my desperate pleading eyes.)

After looking around for a savior at the bar, and realizing that I was in this one alone, I began to fill him in on what I’ve been up to at work – my recent business trip and some big projects.  “Marketing is stupid.  I don’t get it.  It never sways me to buy anything.” I let this remark go (while taking a deep breath) and tried to steer the conversation elsewhere.

Within the span of about 10 minutes, he had managed to insult my career, my hometown, and several of my passions in life.  Finally, fed up and getting angry, I asked: “Ok, well what makes YOU happy, what are YOU passionate about?”  His response: “Nothing really.” 

I got the check and gathered my things.

THAT, my friend, is why you are single.

Moral of the story?  It makes no difference how good looking you are, if you are a miserable asshole you are STILL an asshole.

How do I keep finding these people?

Q

4 Responses to “mr. miserable.”

  1. OG Says:

    Very true…that type of attitude is completely unattractive. Nobody wants to be around a constant downer. Especailly one who can’t even have an actual conversation about why they dislike things. If you’re going hate something, let’s discuss it – don’t just tell me you hate it, at least that could be interesting.

  2. Kelly Says:

    Wow, what a miserable guy. I dated someone who was angry and bitter all the time. He was funny, so he made me laugh, but then I realized that he was just miserable about everything and everyone…and he wouldn’t consider his attitude the problem!

  3. qwithouttheu Says:

    The best part: He was drinking Miller Lites and complaining the entire time about how “bad” they are. If they are that bad then STOP DRINKING THEM! What is wrong with people??

  4. Citygal Says:

    I couldn’t agree more. People who are negative are also not worth an ounce of our time. I once was on a date and within the first 5 minutes, the guy had rattled off 3 negative comments. It’s not our job to make our date happy!


Leave a Reply

