breakfast at tiffany’s.

June 11, 2010

I’m wearing the necklace he gave me again.

The pretty Tiffany’s one that he bought me only shortly after we had gotten together – the one that I took off four months ago and swore would never again leave my jewelry box.

Just like how the months have allowed the song that always reminded me of him to become just another song, those four untouched months of collecting dust have transformed what had at one point symbolized the beginning of a deep and budding romance to little more than just a pretty necklace.  When I hear that song on the radio now, I turn it up and wait for that feeling to come; but it doesn’t, and instead I sing along.

The memories that I once wore around my neck have vanished too. And now, it might even serve as a reminder that after the dust settles, everything really does turn out OK in the end.

I’m better than ever,

Q

5 Responses to “breakfast at tiffany’s.”

  1. milkfever Says:

    Really quite a beautiful post. Is there a happy ending, do you think?


  2. This is the place I want to be. Where I can see/hear something and not be bombarded with memories and emotions of the ex. Thanks for sharing. Gives me hope that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

    And yes, I will definitely sign that petition to make Facebook illegal! But until that happens, I’m considering putting up a counter on my blog to keep track of how many times I go on and check things I shouldn’t be checking. Maybe the public display of my obsession will be enough to deter me….

    • qwithouttheu Says:

      I think there’s a happy ending here… Maybe not tomorrow, maybe not next year, but someday. Raeofsun, I think you’ll see that too. Give it time. 🙂

  3. OG Says:

    Isn’t it a great feeling when you are just back to being you again? Congratulations, and thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. Mares Says:

    I was a witness to this train wreck….miserable people suck!


Leave a Reply

