two times the awkwardness.

June 3, 2010

Palms sweaty, heart beating a little bit, you make your way to your pre-arranged meeting spot.  You check for spinach in your teeth, put your best face forward, and awkwardly suffer through the new few hours, tell yourself that you had a good time, and leave praying for a call back.

Sound familiar…?

Is this a date…? or a job interview? Sometimes it’s hard to tell the difference.

As a single girl that’s ALSO looking for a new job, I feel like I’ve had enough stress and awkward situations to last the average person 12 lifetimes.

Having just left yet another job interview that will undoubtedly pan out to nothing (due to a lousy HR director that failed to screen for compatible salaries), the similarities to dating and job hunting nearly smacked me in the face.  It’s like this never-ending cycle.

Everyone’s faking it at first, wanting to be liked.  Then the one YOU actually like wont call you back and the one that is all about you doesn’t pay enough or has poor hygiene and those ungodly bright colored sneakers (you know, the ones that look like they were thrown up on by a box of crayola crayons).  What’s worse, one of you will likely wind up bored with the relationship or career in a year or two and the cycle begins again.

But the sad part is, there’s nothing you can really do about it.  It’s all part of the game, my friend.  As cheesy as it sounds, you gotta keep putting yourself out there, and keep sipping that proverbial porridge until you find the one that’s the perfect fit.

So for now, you can call me “Goldilocks”,

Q

2 Responses to “two times the awkwardness.”

  1. K Says:

    Bravo re: the comparison — I feel exactly the same way (I also see the parallel between housing/apartment hunting and dating :-)).

    This part esp. resonates with me: “Everyone’s faking it at first, wanting to be liked. Then the one YOU actually like wont call you back… What’s worse, one of you will likely wind up bored with the relationship or career in a year or two and the cycle begins again.”

    For me, at this point, I am just tired of the cycle. Disappointment is a bitter pill to swallow, again and again.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing!

    • qwithouttheu Says:

      Thanks for the kind words, K. I agree with the similarities to dating and apartment hunting. I guess I will have to thank my lucky stars that I am not job hunting, apt hunting, AND dating at the same time. 😉


Leave a Reply

